If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Alan Stokes wins BPSA UK Tour 2004

Old 18th November 2004, 00:10
ivanmcp's Avatar
ivanmcp ivanmcp is offline
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Here!
Posts: 1,008
Alan Stokes wins BPSA UK Tour 2004

Alan Stokes wins BPSA UK Tour 2004

Alan Stokes wins the BPSA UK Tour 2004 after Australian Josh Lewan won the Gul Newquay BPSA Surf Contest, the eighth stop on the British Professional Surfing Association Tour, held at Fistral Beach over the weekend.

Stoksey delighted with his result pocketed a cheque for £2,500 by winning the prestigious title of BPSA Champion for 2004. He had an incredible year winning two events and placing second and third in others. Commenting at the award ceremony “It has been a great year for me especially to win the tour when level of surfing has been so high”.

photo: extremeboardshots.com

Kay Holt defeated Robyn Davies (Helston) in the final of the G-Girl Gul Women’s BPSA event to win the Women’s BPSA UK Tour. Keeping Kay’s 100% record of wins at BPSA events, including her win at the Sri Lankan Airlines Champion of Champions Event at Arugam Bay in Sri Lanka earlier in the year.

Matt Capel (S Devon) won the BPSA Junior title for 2004 and also picked up the Freerange Most Up and Coming surfer for the year. Surf Girl Women’s Rookie of the year went to fifteen year old Beth Mason (Wales) after her performance in the Women’s events on the tour.

The Soundworx Most Inspiring Surfer went to Jed Stone (Newquay), who in his fifties still competes at the highest level and is an example to all surfers who enjoy competitions.

Wavelength Best BPSA Surfer voted by the magazine readership went to Sam Lamiroy. The BPSA Best International Surfer went to Reubin Pearce (S Africa), placing 5th in the final rankings.

In the Freerange Airshow Oli Adams preformed an Aerial Reverse to take the title and prize money. Taking the award for the Freerange Most Progressive Manoeuvre was sixteen-year-old Reubyn Ash (Bude).

Gul Newquay BPSA Event Results:

Gul Newquay BPSA Event:

1st Josh Lewan (Aus)
2nd John Buchorski (Sennen)
3rd Alan Stokes (Newquay)
4th Mark Harris (Newquay)

G- Girl Women’s BPSA Event:

1st Kay Holt (Newquay)
2nd Robyn Davies (Helston)
3rd Sarah Bentley (St Agnes)
4th Nicole Morgan (Ireland)

Freerange Airshow:

1st Oli Adams (Newquay)
2nd Toby Atkins (Aus)
3rd Matt Daniels (S Africa)

Freerange Most Progressive Manoeuvre: Reubyn Ash (Bude)

Tour Results:

BPSA Open:

1st Alan Stokes (Newquay)
2nd Mark Harris (Newquay)
3rd John Buchorski (Sennen)

BPSA Women:

1st Kay Holt (Newquay)
2nd Sarah Bentley (St Agnes)
3rd Nicola Bunt (St Agnes)

BPSA Juniors:

1st Matt Capel (S Devon)
2nd Oli Adams (Newquay)
3rd Johnny Fryer (I of Wight)
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headworx North East BPSA Surf Championships 2003 ivanmcp Surf Events 0 4th November 2003 22:35
Llewellyn Whitaker wins Headworx Scottish BPSA Surfing Championships ivanmcp Surf Events 0 30th September 2003 23:09

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:55.

Surf Newquay Logo